Handover of the Chairman of the IADB Council of Delegates

The Inter-American Defense Board (IADB) held, on June 22, 2021, the handover of the Chairman of the IADB Council of Delegates.

The ceremony took place at the “Soldier’s House” and was presided over by the Secretary General of the Organization of American States (OAS), Ambassador Luis Almagro, and was attended by the Chairman of the Committee on Hemispheric Security, Ambassador Rita Claverie Díaz de Sciolli, the Minister of State of Mines and Energy of Brazil, Admiral Bento Albuquerque, and several civil and military authorities.

During the event, the Chairman of the IADB Council of Delegates for the period June 21, 2019 to June 22, 2021, Lieutenant General Luciano José Penna, made a brief historical report and pointed out the current challenges of the IADB, besides pointing out the great adaptability and important work of integration among the nations of the hemisphere developed in this Board.

The elected Chairman of the IADB Council of Delegates, Vice-Admiral Alexandre Rabello de Faria, thanked the Member States for electing him to the position of Chairman of the Council of Delegates and all those who honored the ceremony, and highlighted the resilience of this Board throughout its history.

The Secretary General of the OAS, Ambassador Luis Almagro, highlighted the IADB’s importance in contributing to peaceful coexistence among the states of the hemisphere, in the defense of democracy, in its humanitarian aid work, in mitigating the effects of natural disasters, and in the defense of human rights.

The IADB was created in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, during the Third Meeting of Consultation of Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the 21 American Republics that, at that time, were part of the Pan American Union.

Currently, the IADB has 29 Member States and 8 observer countries.